subscribe: Posts | Comments

Black defends Newsome from Guiao rant at ‘disrespectful’ garbage-time basket

0 comments
Black defends Newsome from Guiao rant at ‘disrespectful’ garbage-time basket

MERALCO coach Norman Black made it clear the Bolts had no intention of disrespecting NLEX in the endgame of their 106-90 win on Friday night in the PBA Commissioner’s Cup.

Black said the two-point shot converted by Chris Newsome in the final 1.6 seconds with the outcome of the game already settled was more on improving the team’s quotient rather than insulting the Road Warriors, who went down to their third straight loss in the conference.

Newsome’s move drew the ire of NLEX mentor Yeng Guiao, who was caught by the camera uttering vulgar words aimed in the direction of the third-year Meralco guard.

Black however, said the Bolts are just doing their job.

“The rules are we play by the quotient and we play by the rules,” said Black afterwards. “They take that rule out then we’ll respect the game and not try to score in the endgame.”

Ties at the end of the eliminations are broken via quotient system, which is the primary reason why Newsome had to take the shot, according to Black.

“I don’t really know what they want us to do about that,” said the champion coach.

Black even raised the case of one team (Blackwater) in the last Philippine Cup which failed to advance in the playoffs owing to a poor quotient when it ended up tied with three other teams.

The 60-year-old grand slam mentor said he’ll personally stop his players from scoring at garbage time if such a rule doesn’t apply.

“Me as a coach, I’m not naïve and I know that normally when the game is over, the game is over. No more need of putting on the coach’s face or on anybody’ face,” he said.

“But until the PBA changes the rules, then that’s something else.”

Source: https://www.spin.ph/basketball/pba/news/meralco-coach-norman-black-on-contested-endgame-basket-by-chris#1YCvIvLV1ZIrQ1hr.99

Loading...